Home / Cricket / Ian Gould becomes 15th umpire to stand in 100 ODIs

Ian Gould becomes 15th umpire to stand in 100 ODIs

Naman Trivedi Ahmedabad / Sydney: Ian Gould has become the 15th umpire to stand in 100 ODIs when he took the field in the Australia versus Sri Lanka match in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday 8th March 2015. Gould joined the first-class umpires’ panel in England in 2002 and was elevated to the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires in 2006. He made his international umpiring debut in an ODI between England and Sri Lanka at the Oval in June 2006, while he made his Test debut two years later in Bloemfontein in the match between South Africa and Bangladesh. In 2009, he was promoted to the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires. Apart from his 100 ODIs, he has stood in 43 Tests and 29 Twenty20 Internationals. Gould has also umpired in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 and 2011, as well as in the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 and 2013. During his playing days, he was a wicketkeeper-batsman for Middlesex, Sussex and England in a career that ran from 1975 to 1996. He kept wickets for England in 18 One-Day Internationals in 1983, including seven during the ICC Cricket World Cup 1983 in which he scored 66 runs and accounted for 12 batsmen behind the wickets. Umpire On completing 100 ODIs, Mr Gould said: “I love umpiring and really consider it a great honour to be on the field with the some of the greatest players in the world. Cricket is just such a great game.” Paying tribute to Mr Gould, ICC’s Senior Umpires & Referees Manager, Vince Van Der Bijl, said: “We delight in Ian Gould’s century of ODIs. Ian’s man and match management is his umpiring hallmark using his feel for the game as an ex-International wicketkeeper/batsman and a first-class coach. That combined with his decision-making, humour and no nonsense on the field approach makes him a popular and excellent elite umpire.” The umpire with most appearances in ODIs is Rudi Koertzen who stood in 209 matches. Most appearances by umpires (as of 8 March 2015): Rudi Koertzen (South Africa) 209 Billy Bowden (New Zealand) 193 Steve Bucknor (West Indies) 181 Daryl Harper (Australia) 174 Simon Taufel (Australia) 174 David Shepherd (England) 172 Aleem Dar (Pakistan) 169 Darrell Hair (Australia) 139 Russell Tiffin (Zimbabwe) 136 Steve Davis (Australia) 134 Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka) 122 Billy Doctrove (West Indies) 112 David Orchard (South Africa) 107 Steve Dunne (New Zealand) 100 Ian Gould (England) 100

About Sanjay Trivedi

Sanjay Trivedi is honorary editor of Asia Times. He is senior Indian Journalist having vast experience of 25 years. He worked in Janmabhoomi, Vyapar, Divya Bhaskar etc. newspapers and TV9 Channel as well as www.news4education.com. He is serving as Media Officer in Gujarat Technological University, the university which controlling 440 colleges of Engineering, Management, Pharmacy & Architecture colleges in Gujarat.

Check Also

ASEAN Special Commemorative Summit to be held in India

Opening Statement by Prime Minister of India at 15th ASEAN-India Summit, Manila Your Excellency President …